Writing … and Reviewing

I’m not new to writing. I’ve been doing it my entire life.

What I am new to is having my work reviewed by peers, submitting my work to public outlets, and moving in circles of writers.

I’ll be honest with you, I don’t like it. Other writers frighten me. Nothing makes me doubt myself more than another writer. I have enough social anxiety as it is, so put me in a room, even a chatroom, with other writers and I shut down.

I may have found a solution. I know there are other similar sites out there, but if you’re a writer, need some feedback on a story, and want to help out other writers in the same boat as you, you should check out www.zoetrope.com. If you know of Francis Ford Coppola, and American Zoetrope, you’ll understand a bit of what is behind this site.

Within it, you can join the Virtual Studio, where you can connect with other writers of short fiction, flash fiction, novellas, screenplays, poetry … there’s even separate sections for filmmaking, costumes, design, film scoring, etc.

Here the deal: You join, you get to submit one piece for review. If you review five other pieces submitted to the site from other writers, you get to post one more story of your own. You can’t see your reviews for your story until you’ve reviewed five others.

I was going to breeze through the five reviews with some “Good work. Needs depth. Recheck your use of commas and semicolons. etc., etc.,” for a hundred or so words each … but then, starting the first story about something I hate (motorcycles), I started being honest. I wanted this writer to succeed, even if he was writing about things I thought were stupid. I reviewed like a reader instead of a competitor.

And it helped. I always hated reviewing other writers’ material … but now, I kind of like it.

That being said, if any of you would like to have a piece read and constructively critiqued by yours truly, I am now open for submissions.

You can email me at prof.edtt@gmail

And you should check out the Zoetrope Virtual Studio … I might see you there.

2 thoughts on “Writing … and Reviewing

  1. I would definitely agree that reviewing other writers’ work has been immensely helpful in my own development as a writer. Critters.org is another good review site that I participate in. It is mostly focused on science fiction, fantasy and horror. Though they recently added other categories such as non-fiction. I look forward to your future posts.

    • Thanks! I’ll check that one out. I was a bit disheartened by other sites where the first line in every review was “I don’t read science fiction” and the rest was tearing apart everything that made it science fiction.

Leave a Reply

