Closure

Late last night I got the rejection email from the Aussies at Andromeda. It provided the obligatory apologies and reassurances that if I made it this far through their system that my piece is sure to find a home somewhere. I appreciate that bit of uplifting encouragement – but I’m left wondering what to do next.

While Andromeda was a reputable magazine, it was not exactly my market. I don’t mean that they publish a different type of science fiction than I write, I mean that I live in the United States and though there are many similarities in the two cultures, an Australian won’t necessarily read “Pushing Daisy” the same way an American would.

Do I write a new story? Do I rework my two existing stories? Do I abandon short material and devote more time to my novels? Right now, I’m not sure.

I think I need your help.

Shortly, I will post both “Pushing Daisy” and “In Which the Automaton Finds Peace” here and I will password protect both. If you’d really like to help me out, comment here or email me at prof.edtt@gmail.com and I’ll give you the password. I’m only keeping these up for a short time, so let me know pretty quick.

I’d like to get some further feedback on these two pieces before I push them along to additional publications.

Thanks!

5 thoughts on “Closure

  1. Man! Bummer…but you were kind of preparing for it. I would be more than willing to help you out with your stories, but again, take my comments with a grain of salt because I have a hard time deciphering between what I want to happen/read vs. practical advice.
    If you don’t want me to chime in, no feelings will be hurt!

  2. It hurts when one gets a rejection letter, and you look at your story asking yourself what was wrong with it. You ask the question should you re-write it, if you think it a good story why not tout it elsewhere. What about Asimov’s ?

    I would only consider a re-write if I had ten rejections on the same story, but sometimes you can shelve a story for a year or so, bring it out again, and be lucky with your submission.

    I wish you the best of luck with your submission.

    • I always submit to Asimov’s first. 🙂

      I know well enough that all my heroes went through this too. The only difference is that pulp fiction isn’t what it used to be.

      It’s all part of the game.

Leave a Reply

