Another Day Older

As of today, I’m 35 years old.

Last weekend I spent some quality time with quality people twice my age, or thereabouts, and realized that age just gives you more to talk about.

Let’s just say I’m going to live to be 70 years old. Half of my life is gone. Sure, YOU can think of it that way … but I prefer to think of it THIS way:

The first 18 years of my life were spent doing what my parents allowed me to do. I learned a lot of things, played a lot of video games, and was generally miserable.

The next 10 years after that were spent making terrible decisions, learning that I really didn’t know anything, playing a lot of video games, and I was generally miserable.

The past 7 years have been spent ignoring the rest of the world and defining who I am and what I want – while slowly recovering from all the mistakes I made. Meanwhile, I’ve found the person I want to spend the rest of my life with.

So, let’s say I’ve got 35 more years to go.

The first 35 years seemed like an eternity … and now I know who I am.

Damn, that’s a lot of time to play video games, drink beer, and be happy.

And 70’s just a start … imagine another 35 years after that.

It’s absolutely possible.

2 thoughts on “Another Day Older

Leave a Reply

