Let Me Breathe

let me open up for a moment

i imagine long strands of red hair extending from a slick, white pod in open space

the star’s light is brighter than my soul, but i keep my eyes to the black and deep open

tongue-tied as the radiant exposition of the universe surrounding undoes my sanity

half-empty waste transposed over the emptiness of want

eternal suffering for understanding at the edge of man’s desires

second to none I am – an obviousness in a void of people

under the constructions of an advanced species, like lampreys

never again to step forward by our own energies

after all this I float detached above the past

looking back is looking down in this frontier

over the universal tumult a growing vibration echoes

not one sound but all in discord

each man an open vein spewing, an exposed nerve, a virus that knows pain

2 thoughts on “Let Me Breathe

  1. Sounds familiar. Thanks for sharing!

    The magazine game isn’t so bad. I’m not going to start shopping for agents until I get a novel complete.

    Honestly, what bothers me most is the endless cacophony of failed writers that social media turns to 11. I respect the industry to a point – but I don’t have any respect for people that blame the industry for their bad writing, and unfortunately that happens more than good writers getting snubbed. It’s all over the workshop circuit.

    I just want to master the craft.

Leave a Reply

