The Ninth Power – NaNoWriMo 2013

thiswretchedorb

National Novel Writing Month is November – which is right around the corner.

In case you did not know, I participated the last two years and was successful in writing 100,000 words of what will be my first novel. If you’re interested in participating, go here.

So, what I’m in for is 50,000 words in 30 days. Seeing as how I’ve done that for the past two years, I shouldn’t be too worried.

But I am.

Last year was fairly difficult in that I was actually continuing a story I had written the year before. I still did not know exactly where it was going, so it evolved as i went. I managed to finish in time – but had a difficult time winding things down to a stopping point.

This year’s big issue is this: continuity.

In 2011, I wrote “This Wretched Orb” which begins with the line “A man came into existence on the desolate shore of a vast sea of blue.” The story follows the man as he struggles to survive in a hostile environment with no knowledge of who he is, or what he is doing there.

In 2012, I continued the story with “The City of Light” which details what the man discovered about the other inhabitants of his world and describes a conflict arising that the man inevitably becomes involved in. I ended that story on somewhat of a cliffhanger, but was left with a bad feeling about several of the storylines being interwoven.

Now, in 2013, I’ve scrapped or reworked a lot of the story in my head, but have yet to rewrite the first two parts of the story. Essentially, I’ll be finishing a novel this year that is not exactly the novel I’ve already written. This year’s entry is called “The Ninth Power” and resolves all the conflicts that arose in the first two parts while also revealing the true nature of the world the man has come to exist in.

When November 30th rolls around, I hope to be able to honestly say that I have written a complete science fiction novel of at least 150,000 words.

Now, that doesn’t mean it is ready to publish … because at that point, I’ll have to rewrite large portions of the novel to refit against the new ending. That’s at least another year’s worth of editing, but perhaps less.

If you want to follow along, or add me as a writing buddy, I’m here.

-deep breath-

And, here … we … go.

 

Leave a Reply

