Lament of the Polymathic Geek

glue

 

So much to do, so little time.

Unless you consider that time is meaningless in an infinite and circular multiiverse, in which case, I may have not happening to be about to was at one point will be having already done all the things I’ve never done before again for the first time.

I am not the type of person to lecture disdainfully to those uninitiated folks who talk the geek talk, but are inanimate lumps of flesh when it comes to miles traveled in geekdom. I have been, and always will be, a geek, dork, and nerd.

It is on certain days, however, that I am somewhat possessed unwillingly by the polymathic geek elitist that lurks in the darkest fathoms of my soul … right next to the “me” that knows what the Great Space Coaster is, and the “me” that secretly read The Babysitter’s Club when no one was looking. He is a vile and uncouth sort of foul-mouthed despot. He wants recognition for his accomplishments and despises those who think Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. is a bad television series.

Look … it’s not. Do you have any idea how massive the Marvel universe is? People like Whedon and Feige are geniuses, and the only people that CAN make it work. Do you realize how insanely complex and epic the Earth-616 continuity is? They not only have to satisfy the old spirit of the Silver and Bronze Age, but also the Wolverine/Deadpool fanatics that have never heard of Paste-Pot Pete (unless mentioned by Deadpool in an obscure but relative quip). Look back at Nick Fury, Agent of S.H.I.E.L.D. and replace the 616 Fury with Coulson, and 616 Dugan, Jones, and Sitwell, with May, Ward, and Fitzsimmons, and, and, and …

I apologize … that is not what this post is about.

I am a polymathic geek, and I have credentials.

Here they are.

 

P.S. This is a WORK IN PROGRESS … Do not balk at apparent omissions, chances are it should be on the list, but hasn’t made it yet. Yes, there is no DC because I had to make a choice to satisfy my completionist desires. Oh, and think I haven’t retained most of this? Try me.

I’ll keep updating the page as I go.

Leave a Reply

