General Blog #14701-TS

The Random Taskerpickerizer has dictated that this day’s “Productivity” task is to be a “General Blog”.

Now, normally, I have something extremely snarky to say about something somewhere, hidden deep within sentences more easily digested than they are–like hiding a pet’s pills in a bit of cheese, you don’t even know how profound the sentence actually is, but you’ve eaten it, so there. One day, at the most inopportune moment, the depth of the sentence(s) will be revealed to you after some miniscule event triggered the sudden realization that “The quick brown fox jumped over the lazy dog” actually means something more than the obvious exhibition of the ability to use all letters of the alphabet in one sentence. I wonder what the sentence is in cuneiform, or Portuguese–doesn’t matter, I’m getting off subject.

Let me tell you briefly about my random task assignments. I have an excel sheet with four categories: Productivity, Culture, Knowledge, and Escapism. The Productivity category contains tasks like Music, General Blog, and specific short stories/novels that I have in process. The Culture category (its most geek culture) contains Sentai, Buffyverse, Comics, Kaiju, Clone Wars, etc. The Knowledge category contains Algebra, Spanish, Logistics & Supply Chain Management, Programming, and VBA. And lastly, the Escapism category contains roughly 20 video games ranging from Famicom’s Adventures of Musashi to Diablo II to Star Wars: The Old Republic.

Each day, I run this excel sheet which randomly picks one task from each category, and my goal is to complete each task (typically an hour’s worth of time spent on each is optimal) and not deviate to other desired pursuits until these four tasks are complete. I have been using this for about four weeks, and I have yet to end a day with the list incomplete.

Why do I do this? I love chaos, but I also like accomplishment. I am a completionist locked in mortal combat with obsessiveness and neurotic attention to chronology and continuity. If I didn’t do it this way, I’d never get anything done. This is the meter of my polymathic pursuits. This is how I go to sleep each night feeling that I’ve done the work necessary for the day to become a smarter, wiser, more experienced man than I was the day before.

Let’s deviate a bit.

I watched Guardians of the Galaxy a couple of weekends ago, and it was as entertaining as I had anticipated. It looks like critics will have to wait for Ant-Man for the next opportunity to prognosticate the fall of Mighty Marvel’s Cinematic Universe. So, Ronan was blue, and that mangled body in Agents of SHIELD was blue, so definitely Kree, right? Hmm. Thinking, thinking, thinking.

My Executor is underway, and I’m pleased to report that I finally have Bossk in Lego form. Huzzah!

This is me!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One of hundreds of pics from Honduras that JD and I have yet to sort through and assemble in any sort of album. Soon, maybe, and perhaps.

I suppose I’ll have to read Gilgamesh soon; I’ve exited the Chalcolithic and am well into the Bronze Age now. Hooray for sexigesimal number systems and cylinder seals!

Here are some recommendations from me to you:

Beer – Lakewood Temptress (this is local for me, like a few blocks away local)

Food – Goodfriend, Dallas-ish (the site of my first burgergasm, and coincidentally an easy place to find Temptress)

Book – Concrete Island – J.G. Ballard (man gets trapped a concrete island between massive highways after an accident)

Television – Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – BBC series (watch before the Martin Freeman adaptation)

Music – Emerson, Lake and Palmer – Brain Salad Surgery – Toccata (the sound of psychotic robots chasing the last humans on Earth with big spinning blades and Ayn Rand references)

Movie – The Magic Christian (Peter Sellers and Ringo Starr together at last!)

 

3 thoughts on “General Blog #14701-TS

    • Thanks! I suppose I was being specific. I’m rewatching TCW from the beginning, and since TCW is the only thing I haven’t seen all the way through in the Star Wars universe (unless you count Droids and Ewoks), so it is the only thing that occupies the Star Wars portion of the Culture tasks, as opposed to the Buffyverse where I alternate between Buffy and Angel as chronology dictates, or comics where I follow publication dates across several titles.

      I suppose once Rebels starts airing I may add it in the mix, but the OCD is telling me I have to finish TCW first, because, you know, chronology and all…

      • Haha! Okay, that makes sense. Personally, from what I’ve seen of Rebels through the trailers, I think it’ll be better than TCW, so feel free to add it in. But I’m totally like you – I always have to finish something before I can start something new. It makes me feel better and I know I’m not going to have any questions.

Leave a Reply

